[180] Mr. YT - Brand New Day

Label: R & S Records, Apollo
Catalog#: AMB1703
Format: 2 × Vinyl, 12", Compilation
Country: UK
Released: 2017

A1 Morning 5:54

A2 Reve 7:42
A3 Souvenir 2:50
B1 Afternoon 6:23
B2 Pacific Jazz 9:30
C1 Evening 6:39
C2 Nite 9:20
D1 Ocean In Heaven 8:35
D2 Regard 8:25

90年代からゲーム業界のサウンドクリエイターとして活動し、Mr. YTやDisposable、Missing Projectなど複数の名義でテクノ〜ハウス作品をリリースしてきた京都生まれのプロデューサー竹ノ内裕治。この「Brand New Day」は、90年代後半にMr. YT名義でリリースされたEP3枚をコンパイルした2LP。彼の音楽にはよく「エバーグリーン」という言葉が添えられていますが、それも納得の、どこまでも澄みきった青空をイメージさせる瑞々しいトラックばかり。単に旧音源のコレクションというより、朝から夜までの移ろいゆく時間を描いたEP「Brand New Day」の4編を軸に、その世界観をアルバムサイズに拡張した、ひとつのストーリーの流れを感じさせる構成となっています。昨年、日々の忙しさから身も心も困憊してしまったときにポジティヴなエネルギーをもらった一枚です。



[179] Ripperton - Sight Seeing

Label: ESP Institute

Catalog#: ESP 072
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 2018

A1 The Dove 

A2 Puente De Los Enamorados 
A3 Uroboros 
A4 Vespéral 
A5 Ignition 
B1 Eloigné 
B2 Hélios 
B3 Stratégie Silencieuse 
C1 春 
C2 Monade 
C3 Atomatic 
C4 Infinité 
C5 Gradation 65 
D1 Miroir D'Eau 
D2 Meteorythme 

Swiss artist and veteran producer Ripperton contacted the ESP Institute out of the blue mid-2017 to share a gorgeous mix of self-produced material, a collection of pieces made without any agenda outside of representing the self, not geared toward the dancefloor or a specific environment but simply a bi-product of introspective exploration. We were floored, the mix was on constant repeat in our world for weeks, then was subsequently pulled apart into separate titles to form this beautiful double LP, Ripperton’s debut with the label. The title 'Sight Seeing' speaks of someone stepping outside their current reality to look in the mirror, as if to ground themselves and keep sight of who they are in a world of extreme highs and lows. Inspired greatly by expansive landscapes and views from airplane windows (imagine your commute flying over the Alps every weekend), Ripperton describes this collection as postcards to himself, messages from his subconscious recorded on tape (both conceptually and literally), melancholy soundtracks to the Mondays that follow weekend journeys. While musical genres tend to cycle through bandwagon moments, the ESP Institute strives to operate independently of these, and while 'Sight Seeing' is undoubtably an Ambient album, we’re simply proud to revel in the chance moment where an esteemed artist such as Ripperton spreads his wings in a beautifully unexpected mode of expression.



[178] The New Age Orchestra - Let's Dream Together

Label: Coma Records

Catalog#: PROM 122 439
Format: Vinyl, 12", Promo, Single Sided
Country: Denmark
Released: 1989

A Let's Dream Together 9:13

1980年代後半、コペンハーゲンで伝説的パーティー「Coma: Copenhagen Offers More Action」を主催していたDr. Baker aka Kenneth Bager(ケネス・ベイガー)が、Mega Records内に立ち上げた同名レーベルから89年にリリースした、ラテン風味漂うニューエイジハウス古典。ヴォーカルには後にダンスポップ・ユニットCamilotでデビューする女性シンガーCamilla Wisøfeldt、サックスにJack Rothe、キーボードにDr. Illington aka Lasse Mosegaardが参加。ベイガーが運営するMusic For Dreamsのウェブサイトによると、新しいエディットを含む12"シングルのリイシューが計画されているようです。



[177] William Duckworth - Time Curve Preludes

クラシック音楽、ジャズ、実験音楽などのコンサート音源やラジオ放送のアーカイヴを公開しているradioOM.orgより。1979年4月17日ペンシルベニア州ルイスバーグのバックネル大学にて録音された、ポストミニマリズム作曲家William Duckworth(ウィリアム・ダックワース)によるソロピアノ作品「タイム・カーヴ・プレリューズ」のコンサートの模様。演奏者はNeely Bruce(ニーリー・ブルース)。


performed by Neely Bruce
(Lovely Music, Ltd., 1983/1990)

performed by R. Andrew Lee
(Irritable Hedgehog, 2011)